The Chamber is:

  an independent, non-political, subscription-based association dedicated to promoting a business-friendly environment;

  an impartial, credible non-profit association, which enables it to negotiate contracts and secure funding for projects that benefit its community;

  comprised of members from every sector of the economy, ranging from small entrepreneurs to large corporates;

  involved in a number of initiatives to promote regional development, enterprise and skills development, training and business advisory services



Structure and management

The Barberton Chamber of Business operates through various committees that deal with specific issues and each have defined mandates. Members are encouraged to serve on committees where they can contribute. The Code of Conduct and governance procedures are strictly adhered to, to ensure best practice corporate governance, fairness and transparency.

A full time project management office oversees the running of the Batobic Programme:

    Godfrey Mogoane - Programme Manager 
    Mark Ngwenyama - Relationship Manager 
    Danita Stott - Administration Manager  

Executive Committee (EXCO)

The Executive Committee is the overall governing body of the chamber. It provides policy and strategic direction and manages the affairs of chamber and oversees the workings of the committees. Any matters not delegated to any of the sub-committees are dealt with here.

It consists of the elected office bearers which includes the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and up to five EXCO members.
It is convened and chaired by the President of the Chamber. The Batobic Programme Manager also reports directly to the EXCO.

The present office bearers of the Chamber are:

   Nico Oosthuizen - President
   Vacant - Vice-President
   Flicka Goslett - Treasurer
   Nick Eksteen
   Jan De Witt
   Sue Hicks
   Ben Theron


Operations Committee (OPCO)

The principal objective of the OPCO is to provide operational support to the Batobic Programme, by ensuring that all business is attended to efficiently and implementing the policies and strategic direction set by the EXCO. 

The OPCO is responsible for all operational matters on the Batobic programme, in line with delegated financial mandates. This includes approval of technical processes and documents (such as Terms of reference, Bid documents, Requests for proposals, Expressions of Interest, etc.) and other operational matters. It deals with matters of finance, administration and human resource and all matters incidental thereto.

The OPCO is chaired by the Programme Manager who sets the agenda for meetings held on fixed monthly dates. It consists of the Programme Manager, all section managers and two EXCO members who are appointed by EXCO.


Tender Committees

A tender committee is convened on an ad hoc basis to evaluate bids in terms of the policy framework . It will include subject matter experts as required, depending on the tender being evaluated. Recommendations from the Tender Committee may be referred depending on the financial and contractual implications and delegated mandates.


Project Advisory Committees (PAC)

A Project Advisory Committee is usually established for each of the projects (or a group of similar projects) undertaken as part of the Batobic Programme.

The main reasons for the establishment of a PAC are two-fold: To ensure that all relevant stakeholders and beneficiaries actively participate in the planning and implementation of projects in their areas. This will ensure that they are informed and constantly updated about the projects. In that way stakeholders will be able to participate in the decision making process that affect the project, and deal with queries about the projects from any interested and affected parties. The second reason is that the committee would assist with the identification of suitable candidates from the respective communities to fill the limited temporary and permanent job opportunities. In rural areas, due to high unemployment, this is a very sensitive subject. It is therefore felt that the selection of the persons to be employed must be transparent and should include local structures in an attempt to spread the benefits of the projects fairly within local communities.

Depending on the complexity and budget of a project, the Project Advisory Committee will include the following representatives: Local communities represented by the ward councilor, ward committee members; Local and District Municipality representation through official and portfolio head; Local Tourism Organisation; Local Tribal Authority; applicable national and provincial government department or statutory body; other relevant stakeholders.

PAC meetings are convened and chaired by the Relationship Manager.